About IndyBar

Our History

Our History

On November 30, 1878, in the law offices of Dye & Harris, forty prominent Indianapolis attorneys, including future U.S. President Benjamin Harrison and U.S. Vice President Charles W. Fairbanks, met in the hopes of creating a common organization "in which lawyers may exchange ideas, maintain the honor and dignity of the profession of law, cultivate social intercourse among its members and increase the usefulness in promoting the due administration of justice." And under the leadership of IndyBar's first president Napoleon B. Taylor, the Indianapolis Bar Association was formed.

In the association's original bylaws, the founding members set the course for the future by making provisions for committees on admission, amendments of the law, grievances, liaison with the judiciary and legal education. The association's first priority was to form a law library and reading room for use by judges, attorneys, and students, and by 1910 over 7,000 volumes had been acquired. 

The IndyBar was not racially integrated until the admission of Robert L. Bailey to membership in the 1920s. The first women were also admitted to membership in the 1920s.  It would several more decades until women and racial minorities would lead the IndyBar.  In 1988, Mary Y. Marsh was elected to lead the organization as its first female President while The Hon. Gary L. Miller was the first sitting judge elected President, serving in 2003. The 2000s also marked another milestone with the Honorable Cynthia Ayers elected to serve as the 2006 President making her the first African American attorney to serve as President of IndyBar.

The Indianapolis Bar Association has grown considerably from its first 40 members. In the early 2000s membership was more than 5,600.  The lawyer population shrunk following the 2008 recession.  As a result, membership today hovers around 4,400.  IndyBar continues to strive to fulfill many of the original ideals and commitments as it is guided by a new, yet similar, mission statement-to serve our members, promote justice, and enhance the legal profession.

The IndyBar has undertaken a project to periodically compile biographies of central Indiana judicial officers. Click here to view current bios.

IndyBar Leaders

The Indianapolis Bar Association is fortunate to have been led by many hard-working, talented and visionary presidents since its inception in 1878. See below for a listing of the bar's past presidents.

2021 Jimmie McMillian
2020 Andrew L. Campbell
2019 Thomas A. Barnard
2018 James J. Bell
2017 Nissa M. Ricafort
2016 Hon Robyn L. Moberly
2015 John C. Trimble
2014 Jeffrey A. Abrams
2013 Kerry Hyatt Bennett
2012 A. Scott Chinn
2011 Michael J. Hebenstreit
2010 Christine H. Hickey
2009 James H. Voyles Jr.
2008 Daniel J. Buba
2007 Kevin P. McGoff
2006 Hon. Cynthia J. Ayers
2005 John F. Kautzman
2004 Gary L. Klotz*
2003 Hon. Gary L. Miller
2002 John R. Maley
2001 James Dimos*
2000 Karen C. Turner
1999 C. Joseph Russell*
1998 Phil L. Isenbarger
1997 George A. Buskirk, Jr.*
1996 Neil E. Shook*
1995 Harry V. Huffman*
1994 Thomas L. Davis
1993 Kristin G. Fruehwald
1992 Robert C. Hagemier*
1991 Thomas Q. Henry
1990 Donald W. Buttrey
1989 Mary Y. Marsh
1988 S.R. (Chic) Born
1987 James S. Kirsch
1986 Robert F. Zoccola
1985 Michael R. Maine
1984 D. William Cramer*
1983 Eugene E. Henn
1982 G. Weldon Johnson*
1981 Donald L. Jackson*
1980 Raymond Good
1979 F. Boyd Hovde
1978 Hon. Joseph N. Myers*
1977 F. Emerson Boyd*
1976 Howard S. Young*
1975 Keith C. Reese*
1974 Douglass R. Shortridge*
1973 Karl J. Stipher*
1972 William J. Wood*
1971 Kenneth Foster*
1970 Philip S. Kappes
1969 John M. Kitchen*
1968 Paul H. Buchanan, Jr.*
1967 C. Wendell Martin*
1966 Ben J. Weaver*
1965 Francis M. Hughes*
1964 Charles B. Feibleman*
1963 Charles D. Babcock*
1962 Erle A. Kightlinger*
1961 John W. Houghton*
1960 Gustav H. Dongus*
1959 Floyd R. Mannon*
1958 David M. Lewis*
1957 Howard P. Travis*
1956 Elbert Giliom*
1955 Irving M. Fauvre*
1954 John K. Ruckleshaus*
1953 Paul N. Rowe*
1952 Herman W. Kothe*
1951 Floyd W.  Burns*
1950 Charles C. Baker*
1949 Herbert E. Wilson*
1948 Alan W. Boyd*
1947 William H. Wemmer*
1946 Theodore L. Locke*
1945 Jeremiah L. Cadick*
1944 Harvey B. Hartsock*
1943 Harvey A. Graybill*
1942 B. Howard Caughran*
1941 Fred C. Gause*
1940 Samuel Dowden*
1939 Clarence F. Merrell*
1938 Thomas D. Stevenson*
1937 Russell Wilson*
1936 Hubert Hickam*
1935 Carl Wilde*
1934 Frank C. Dailey*
1933 Homer Elliott*
1932 Paul G. Davis*
1931 Howard S. Young*
1930 William L. Taylor*
1929 Michael E. Foley*
1928 Emsley W. Johnson*
1927 Samuel Ashby*
1926 James M. Ogden*
1925 Lawrence B. Davis*
1924 Charles E. Cox*
1923 Earl R. Conder*
1922 Lewis A. Coleman*
1921 Larz A. Whitcomb*
1920 William P. Kappes*
1919 Henry H. Hornbrook*
1918 Aquilla Q. Jones*
1917 Elmer E. Stevenson*
1916 James W. Fesler*
1915 Charles Remster*
1914 Charles W. Moores. Jr.*
1913 Ernest R. Keith*
1912 Cassius C. Shirley*
1911 William A. Pickens*
1910 Charles Martindale*
1909 Albert Baker*
1908 James P. Baker*
1907 Merrill Moores*
1907 Lawson M. Harvey*
1906 John E. Scott*
1905 John B. Elam*
1904 Daniel W. Howe*
1903 Nathan Morris*
1903 Louis Newberger*
1902 Alexander C. Ayres*
1901 Ovid B. Jameson*
1900 John S. Duncan*
1899 Lewis C. Walker*
1898 Charles A. Dryer*
1897 Edward Daniels*
1896 Samuel O. Pickens*
1895 Henry Clay Allen*
1894 Roscoe O. Hawkins*
1893 Silas M. Shepard*
1892 Charles W. Smith*
1891 William A. Ketcham*
1890 Addison C. Harris*
1889 Thomas L. Sullivan*
1888 Solomon Claypool*
1887 Ferdinand Winter*
1886 Livingston Howland*
1885 William H. H. Miller*
1884 William H. H. Miller*
1883 Addison C. Harris*
1882 Myron B. Williams*
1881 Horatio C. Newcomb*
1880 Horatio C. Newcomb*
1879 Oscar B. Hord*
1878 Napoleon B. Taylor*



Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)