IndyBar Foundation

The Indianapolis Bar Foundation

The Indianapolis Bar Foundation

Our History
The Indianapolis Bar Foundation, the charitable arm of the Indianapolis Bar Association, is a community-focused leader of our local legal profession. The Foundation was created in 1968 by then Association President Paul H. Buchanan, Jr. and other influential members to provide a charitable opportunity for members and friends of the Indianapolis legal community to donate time and money to provide support to central Indiana families of limited means experiencing legal problems and to help support law students and young lawyers and they embark on their careers. Since its inception, the IndyBar Foundation has granted more than $2.3 million to support educational, cultural, character-building and community service organizations. 

Exceptional community leadership and professionalism among Indy's lawyers is recognized through the foundation's Distinguished Fellows program which was formed in 1982.  Each year a limited number of attorneys are selected for recognition and demonstrate their commitment to the community with a gift to the endowment.  To date, there are more than 1,500 central Indiana attorneys have earned this distinction.  In 2008, Life Fellow recognition was added for those whose commitment to the profession was ongoing.

The foundation's ongoing grants and programs are maintained solely through the generosity and energy of its directors, fellows and donors. To further its mission and to make a greater impact serving families in our community, the Foundation asks for your financial and volunteer support.

The Mission of the Indianapolis Bar Foundation is to advance justice and lead positive change in Indianapolis through philanthropy, education and service.

IndyBar Foundation Past Presidents

2020           Lee C. Christie
2019           Mark R. Waterfill
2018           Rebecca W. Geyer
2017           Holly J. Wanzer

2016           Andrew L. Campbell
2015           Erin A. Clancy

2014           David J. Duncan
2013           Kelley J. Johnson
2012           Kelly M. Scanlan
2011           Robin L. Babbitt
2010           John R. Maley

2009           Philip C. Genetos
2008           Jeffrey A. Abrams
2006-07      Christine H. Hickey
2004-05      Eric M. Cavanaugh
2002-03      Lante K. Earnest
2001           Bryce H. Bennett, Jr.
1999-2000  Nancy J. Gargula
1997-98      Kristin G. Fruehwald
1995-96      Donald W. Buttrey
1992-94      Robert F. Zoccola
1984-1991  Hon. James S. Kirsch
1981-1984  Donald L. Jackson*
1968-1981  Hon. Paul H. Buchanan, Jr.*




IndyBar Foundation Activities

Fundraising Events
Much of the IndyBar Foundation's impact is made possible through annual fundraising events that are supported by both members of the legal profession and the community. Click here for more information on IndyBar Foundation events.

IBF Grants
Each year, the IndyBar Foundation grants more than $140,000 to local organizations. Click here for more information on IndyBar Foundation grants.


IBF Scholarships
Over the years, scores of attorneys have benefited from the generosity of our donors through IndyBar Foundation scholarships. Click here for more information on IndyBar Foundation scholarships.

Donate while you shop!
Use AmazonSmile while you do your shopping and Amazon will donate 0.5 percent of all eligible purchases to the Indianapolis Bar Foundation. Just visit the IndyBar Foundation's link here to get started!


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)