Interest Groups

Committees, Task Forces, & Work Groups

IndyBar Committees, Task Forces, & Work Groups

IndyBar Committees, Task Forces, & Work Groups take on important business and initiatives on behalf of the association. These groups sizes vary in size of members, length of volunteer commitment and nature of work, but all offer volunteers a meaningful way to contribute their efforts for the betterment of the bar and the Indy legal community.

Current Committees, Task Forces, & Work Groups

Audit and Investments Committee
The Audit and Investments Committee oversees the performance of the annual audit, monitors the performance of the investment managers, and receives reports for recommendation to the Board of Directors.  2020 Committee Chair: David J. Duncan, Scannell Properties

Bar Leader Series Committee
The Bar Leader Series Committee guides the planning and execution of the Bar Leader Series, a leadership development program for attorneys in their third to tenth year of practice. Class XVII Chair: Rebecca Geyer, Rebecca W. Geyer & Associates PC

Bar Review Committee
The Bar Review Committee is responsible for the oversight of IndyBar Review, the official bar review course of the Indianapolis Bar Association. 2020 Committee Chair: Christine Hickey, Rubin & Levin PC

Bench Bar Conference Committee
The Bench Bar Conference Committee is responsible for the planning and execution of the IndyBar's annual Bench Bar Conference. 2020 Committee Chairs: Hon. Jim Joven, Marion Superior Court; Hon. Marie Kern, Marion Superior Court; Bryan Strawbridge, Frost Brown Todd LLC

Budget Committee
The Budget Committee oversees the creation of the operating budget and monitors performance against budget throughout the year. 2020 Committee Chair: David J. Duncan, Scannell Properties

Diversity Job Fair Committee
The Diversity Job Fair Committee is tasked with the planning and execution of the annual Diversity Job Fair. 2020 Committee Chairs: Tiffani Taylor, Health & Hospital Corporation; Bianca Black, Littler Mendelson PC

Grievance Committee
The Grievance Committee, comprised of about 60 local practicing attorneys and separated into four different panels, investigates complaints filed to the Disciplinary Commission. 2020 Committee Chair: Michael Hebenstreit, Whitham Hebenstreit & Zubek LLP

Helping Enrich Attorneys' Lives (HEAL)
HEAL reaches out to members of the Indy legal community who are experiencing personal crises like health issues. Volunteers communicate with the member to determine how the bar could help and ultimately organize assistance. 2020 Committee Chair: Martha Lehman, SmithAmundsen LLC

Justice Center Task Force
The Indianapolis Bar Association's Justice Center Task Force seeks to cause the building of a new justice center in Marion County that will allow for safe, efficient, economical, and dignified administration of justice. 2020 Committee Chair: John F. Kautzman, Ruckelshaus Kautzman Blackwell & Bemis LLP 

Lawyer Doctor Collaborative Committee
This committee plans and executes an annual dinner each spring, fosters good relationships with the two professions and will create unique seminars that are of interest to both attorneys and doctors. 2020 Committee Chair: TBA

Legislative Committee
The Legislative Committee monitors legislation on behalf of the association, alerting members to items of interest and coordinating the IndyBar's response to potential legislation. 2020 Committee Chair: Mindy Westrick, Indiana Energy Association

Paralegal Committee
The Paralegal Committee guides the planning and execution of events and initiatives on behalf of and for the benefit of IndyBar paralegal members. 2020 Committee Chair: Rayann Knepley, Kids' Voice of Indiana

Professionalism Committee
The IndyBar's Standing Committee on Professionalism oversees the association's professionalism efforts, Indy Attorneys' Network, and is tasked with working to improve public confidence and trust in lawyers through activities that (a) promote positive lawyer images in the Indianapolis community and (b) educate members and the public on how to avoid those circumstances that can lead to client distrust and dissatisfaction. 2020 Committee Chair: Scott Oliver, Lewis Kappes PC

Pro Bono Committee
The Pro Bono Committee monitors, operates and evaluates the IndyBar's pro bono initiatives and identifies future opportunities for pro bono service and involvement. 2020
 Committee Chair: TBA



Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.3.20)