Interest Groups

Sports & Entertainment Law Section Executive Meeting Minutes: October - Sports and Entertainment Law News

Get the news you want the way you want it: click the RSS button in the right corner to add this feed to your RSS reader, or click here to subscribe to this content. By subscribing, you’ll find this news on your Member Account page, and the latest articles will be emailed to you in your customized IndyBar E-Bulletin e-newsletter.

Sports and Entertainment Law News

Posted on: Nov 2, 2017
October 26 Sports and Entertainment Law Section Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
Attendees: Jason Bonikowske, Matt Macaluso, Patricia Kinney, Derrick Morgan, Cate Sabatine, Joel Tragesser, Kyle Fairchild, Kim Ferguson, Deneen Fitzgerald, Jennifer Smith
Film CLE—The committee discussed the recent Heartland Film Festival CLE.  The CLE had 19 attendees.  The committee agreed that keep trying to work in this CLE in conjunction with Heartland in the future if the setup does not change.  
Concussion CLE—Potential partnership with the Litigation Section in December.  Jason will call Chris Termini or Michael Hollowell to gauge interest from someone at the NCAA or USA Football to sit on the panel with Dan Chamberlin.  Jason will update the group after he contacts Chris or Michael.
Premises Liability CLE—There are already two committed panelists.  Jason will ask Chris Termini about a guest from the NCAA to sit on this panel when he calls him about the concussion CLE.  
The committee will contemplate ways to include an ethics credit in CLE planning for next year.
Bylaws and Officers
Motion by Jason Bonikowske to amend the present Sports and Entertainment Law Section bylaws (sections 3.1 and 3.3) to state “no more than 10” related to the number of committee members, as well as conditionally approve the Officers and At-Large slate for 2018 dependent on the Board approving the bylaw amendments; seconded by Matt Macaluso.  The motion was unanimously approved.  
2018 Officers 
Chair: Matt Macaluso
Chairs Elect: Patricia Kinney/Jimmie McMillian 
Vice Chair: Kyle Fairchild
Secretary: Jennifer Smith
Past Chairs: Jason Bonikowske/Cate Sabatine
2018 At-Large Executive Committee Members
Joel Tragesser
Catherine Corsaro
The committee will continue to monitor attendance in accordance with the current attendance policy in the bylaws.  A future attendance policy amendment may be warranted.  
Forms Database
It is difficult to post sports “forms,” but the committee decided that posting all the TRAC materials would be a good idea.  There are also universal waivers that could be posted, as well. 
Reply to the December executive committee lunch invite sent by Patricia Kinney.  
March hockey game/CLE is green lighted; planning will continue in the new year.
If you would like to write or submit content for the Sports & Entertainment Law Section page, please contact Kim Ferguson at


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)