Interest Groups

Indiana Paralegal Association Holds Annual Installation of Officers and Directors & Awards Ceremony - Paralegals News

Get the news you want the way you want it: click the RSS button in the right corner to add this feed to your RSS reader, or click here to subscribe to this content. By subscribing, you’ll find this news on your Member Account page, and the latest articles will be emailed to you in your customized IndyBar E-Bulletin e-newsletter.

Paralegals News

Posted on: Aug 3, 2017

By Laura E. A. Thirion, Katz Korin Cunningham

The Indiana Paralegal Association, Inc. ("IPA") held its annual swearing in and awards ceremony at the Sherton Indianapolis City Center on Wednesday, July 19. The featured guest speaker was Hon. Timothy J. Oakes, Judge of the Marion County Superior Court, Civil Division, who honored the newly elected IPA officers and directors by conducting the installation ceremony.

The officers and directors of the IPA serve on the Board of Directors. The Board consists of three officers and 12 directors. These 15 paralegals volunteer their time to serve a one-year term. During their term, the officers and directors swear to represent IPA's members' interests to the best of their skills and abilities. The newly elected officers and directors are as follows:


President: Arlene Morris, Whitham Hebenstreit & Zubek LLP
Vice President: Lottie Wathen, Whitham Hebenstreit & Zubek LLP
Secretary: Everlla Savage, Plews Shadley Racher & Braun LLP
Treasurer: Open


CLE Director: Cheri Spicer, Indiana Education Employment Relations Board
Education Director: Nicole Miller, Mallor Grodner LLP
Ethics Director: Jamie Collins, Shartzer Law Firm LLC
Fundraising Director: Jodie Bergeron, Cohen & Malad LLP
Job Bank Director: Julie Johnson, Bose McKinney & Evans LLP
Marketing/PR Director: Laura E. A. Thirion, Kightlinger & Gray LLP
Membership Director: Amy Yeskie, Krieg DeVault LLP
Monthly Meeting Director: Rhonda Murphy, Bose McKinney & Evans LLP
Newsletter Director: Angela Woodlee, Indianapolis Colts
NFPA Primary Representative: Angela R. Hopson, Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart PC
Parliamentarian: Sarah Ogden, OneAmerica Financial Partners, Inc.
Technology Director: Tracey Woolsey, Cummins, Inc.


Each year, the IPA presents awards to honor its members who have displayed exceptional abilities and who put their many virtues to work to better the organization. Five awards were presented at the ceremony this year. The awards and recipients are as follows:

Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Linda McGirr, Barnes & Thornburg LLP
Paralegal of the Year Award was awarded to Nichole Miller, Mallor Grodner LLP
Outstanding Board Member of the Year Award was awarded to Tracey Woolsey, Cummins, Inc.
New Member of the Year Award was awarded to Janice Wann-Snyder, Nickloy & Higdon
Paralegal Employer of the Year Award was awarded to Bose McKinney & Evans LLP

If you would like to submit content or write an article for the Paralegal Committee page, please email Kara Sikorski at


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)