Interest Groups

Seven Counties Approved to Appoint New Magistrates - Litigation News

Get the news you want the way you want it: click the RSS button in the right corner to add this feed to your RSS reader, or click here to subscribe to this content. By subscribing, you’ll find this news on your Member Account page, and the latest articles will be emailed to you in your customized IndyBar E-Bulletin e-newsletter.

Litigation News

Posted on: May 6, 2015

On Tuesday, May 5, Gov. Mike Pence signed House Enrolled Act 1110, which will allow seven Indiana counties to appoint new magistrate judges. The law also expands the judicial officers' abilities, allowing them to approve and accept criminal plea agreements, approve settlements in civil matters, and approve decrees of dissolution, settlement agreements and any other agreements in domestic relations or paternity actions.

The counties approved by the act are: 

  • St. Joseph County
  • Clark Circuit Court
  • Greene Circuit and Superior Courts
  • Madison Circuit Court
  • Marion Superior Court
  • Porter Circuit Court
  • Vanderburgh Circuit Court

Read more here.


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)