About IndyBar

Honor Excellence: Legal Community Stars to Receive Recognition Awards - IndyBar News

IndyBar News

Posted on: Oct 10, 2018

The Indianapolis legal community is fortunate to be home to thousands of individuals who work their hardest each day for the benefit of their profession, their community and their families. Join us on November 13 at Meridian Hills Country Club as we honor just a handful of the many lawyers, judges and students who’ve made their mark in 2018.

In addition to honoring recipients, the Recognition Breakfast is the perfect collegial environment to catch up with friends, meet fellow lawyers and bar staff and talk to bar leadership about opportunities for involvement in the coming year.

Learn more about this year’s recipients below and register online for the event at indybar.org/events.

Dr. John Morton Finney Jr. Award for Excellence in Legal Education
Recipient: Professor Lawrence A. Jegen III (posthumously)

Every lawyer has at least two things in common—they’ve cleared the hurdles of law school and the bar exam. For Indianapolis lawyers, many will have one man to thank for both accomplishments: former Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law Professor Larry Jegen.

Professor Jegen, who passed away in May 2018, taught at IU McKinney for 56 years before his retirement in 2018. In addition to his many contributions at the law school, Professor Jegen co-founded and taught the Indiana Bar Review bar exam review course, giving more than 400 bar review tax lectures over 35 years. When he made the decision in 2001 to ramp down his bar review involvement, Professor Jegen approached the Indianapolis Bar Association to take over the course to ensure future Indiana lawyers had an Indiana-based alternative for the Indiana bar exam.  This course ultimately became the IndyBar Review course offered by the Indianapolis Bar Association today.

In recognition of his many years of dedication and lasting impact far beyond his lifetime, the IndyBar is proud to posthumously recognize Professor Larry Jegen with the Dr. John Morton Finney Jr. Award for Excellence in Legal Education.

Board of Directors Award
Recipient: Christine Hickey, Rubin & Levin PC

The Board of Directors Award is bestowed on an IndyBar member who has demonstrated outstanding and unique service to the association, causing positive benefit for the legal profession. Through her unique and outstanding service to the National Conference of Bar Foundations and National Conference of Bar Presidents, Chris Hickey of Rubin & Levin PC will be recognized with this award for 2018.

Hickey, who has served as the president of both the Indianapolis Bar Association and the Indianapolis Bar Foundation, has committed considerable time and dedication to the aforementioned national organizations, through which she has bolstered the already sterling reputation of the Indianapolis legal community. Hickey wrapped up her year as president of the National Conference of Bar Presidents in August 2018 and served as the president of the National Conference of Bar Foundations in 2009 and 2010.

President’s Award for Service to the Association
Recipients: Practice Builder Faculty

The practice of law has changed dramatically over the years, with an increasing number of practitioners stepping out on their own and hanging a shingle. As this evolution took place, the IndyBar recognized that while starting and running a law firm is a tremendous undertaking, no single comprehensive resource existed for Indiana attorneys hoping to start or sustain their solo or small firm practice.

Thanks to a group of dedicated practitioners, Practice Builder was born. Designed to take attorneys through each step of the process, Practice Builder is a one-stop-shop for information and services for the solo and small firm practitioner. Based primarily online, Practice Builder boasts extensive guides in each stage of the law firm life cycle, editable forms, checklists, podcasts and webinars. Plus, Practice Builder connects subscribers to the service with local leaders in the profession for networking and assistance.

In recognition of the unique and outstanding service provided by the faculty of Practice Builder, Practice Builder Faculty Members have been awarded the President’s Award for Service to the Association.

Practice Builder faculty includes: Josh Brown, Law Office of Josh F. Brown; Rebecca Geyer, Rebecca W. Geyer & Associates PC; Michael Bishop, Cohen Garelick & Glazier PC; Benjamin Spandau, Funk & Spandau LLC; Bryan Stoffel, Stoffel Law LLC; Holly Wanzer, Wanzer Edwards PC; Patrick Wanzer, Wanzer Financial; Erin Clancy, Kightlinger & Gray LLP; John “J.T.” Funk, Funk & Spandau LLC; and Kevin Bowen, Tate & Bowen LLP.

President’s Award for Service to the Profession
Recipients: Marion County Judicial Selection Commission

A new chapter in the city’s history began when House Enrolled Act 1036 mandated the creation of the 14-member Marion County Judicial Selection Commission. The commission is responsible for interviewing judicial candidates and providing recommendations to the governor, as well as making recommendations as to whether judges should be retained.

In recognition of the effective applicant review process created, appreciation for the numerous hours spent, and respect for the outstanding commitment demonstrated by commission members, the Marion County Judicial Section Commission has been named the recipient of the President’s Award for Service to the Profession.

The commission is chaired by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Mark Massa, with Indiana Court of Appeals Judge Cale Bradford serving as Vice Chair. Additional members of the commission include: Senator Billie Breaux, Bryce Carpenter, Lee Christie, Susan Cline, K. Michael Gaerte, Rick Hurst, Katherine Jackson-Lindsay, Lacy Johnson, Cordelia Lewis Burks, Andrew Mallon, Adrianne Slash, and Jennifer Thuma.

Pro Bono Award: Attorney Aiding Individuals
Recipient: Adrienne Pope, Kightlinger & Gray

This award is meant to recognize attorneys who have demonstrated dedication to the delivery of legal services to the poor. The 2018 recipient has dedicated considerable time and energy toward assisting both the youth and elderly of the community, and for this service, Adrienne Pope will be recognized with the Pro Bono Award: Attorney Aiding Individuals.

In addition to work, family, and duties at home, Pope volunteers at least two hours each week through the Center for At-Risk Elders program, serving as a volunteer permanent legal guardian. Over the course of three years, she has advised, represented, and cared for three elderly individuals confined to assisted living. These individuals have no other family member willing or able to care for them and oversee their financial well-being. Pope also serves as a judge for Teen Court, helping Indianapolis' youth learn about consequences of their decisions and helping them become more responsible and accountable individuals.

The IndyBar Young Lawyer of the Year will also be honored at the Recognition Breakfast (recipient to be announced).


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)