About IndyBar

McMillian to Lead Indianapolis Bar Association in 2021 - IndyBar News

IndyBar News

Posted on: Aug 30, 2018

The Indianapolis Bar Association’s Nominating Committee has announced the selection of Jimmie McMillian as the 2021 President of the Indianapolis Bar Association. McMillian will serve as the association’s First Vice President on the 2019 Board of Directors and as President Elect in 2020.

McMillian currently serves as chair of the IndyBar’s Bar Leader Series Steering Committee for Class XVI of the leadership development program and is a long-time lecturer for the IndyBar Review, the association’s bar prep course. Previously a partner at Barnes & Thornburg LLP, he assumed the role of senior corporate counsel for the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and its related entities, including Clabber Girl, INDYCAR and IMS Productions, in 2016.

McMillian earned his J.D. from the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law and served as a law clerk for Indiana Supreme Court Justice Frank Sullivan from 2002 to 2004. He received the National Bar Association’s Presidential Award in 2007, was president of the McKinney Alumni Association in 2011-2012 and was named to the 2018 list of Most Influential Black Lawyers by Savoy Magazine.

Appointed by the committee to two-year terms beginning in 2019 were Rebecca Geyer of Rebecca W. Geyer & Associates as Secretary and Phil Isenbarger, Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP, as ABA Delegate.

Five additional At Large Directors were also selected. Chosen to serve through 2020 were Joshua F. Brown, Law Office of Josh F. Brown; Claire Emswiller, Emswiller Williams Noland & Clarke LLC; Alex Limontes, Law Office of William W. Hurst; Bryan Strawbridge, Frost Brown Todd LLC; and Holly Wanzer, Wanzer Edwards PC.

As determined by previous nomination, the 2019 Board of Directors will be led by Thomas A. Barnard of Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP. Andrew Campbell, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP, will be President Elect.

In addition to selections made by the association’s Nominating Committee, President-Elect Barnard has appointed as Vice Presidents Hon. Alicia Gooden, Marion Superior Court; Hon. Debbie Lynch, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana; and Manny Herceg, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP. Serving as Counsel to the Board will be Alice Morical of Hoover Hull Turner LLP. 

The 2019 Board of Directors will be formally installed at the Indianapolis Bar Association and Foundation Installation Luncheon, to be held on January 29, 2019 at the Columbia Club.


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)