About IndyBar

Nominations Open for Professionalism Awards - IndyBar News

IndyBar News

Posted on: Jul 10, 2015

Professionalism--it's a trait that sets apart one stellar attorney or judge from another. Now is your chance to honor this invaluable quality in your Indy colleagues.

The IndyBar Professionalism Committee is currently soliciting nominations for the 2015 IndyBar Professionalism Award (Attorney) and IndyBar Silver Gavel Award (Judge). Nominations are due by 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, August 20.

The professionalism awards were created in 2004 to summon to the spotlight lawyers and judicial officers whose career exemplifies the high calling and higher achievement of lawyers in modern society. 

Criteria for Evaluation:

  1. Overall quality of performance in profession
  2. Pro Bono service
  3. Community  service
  4. Service to the Indianapolis, local county or Indiana bar associations and/or foundations
  5. Demonstrated respect toward clients, family, and friends
  6. Demonstrated respect toward judges and lawyers
  7. Involvement with charitable and volunteer activities
  8. Demonstrated commitment to mentoring others in the profession

Nominate a deserving legal professional by e-mailing cchopp@indybar.org and noting why your nominee is qualified for the honor along with some examples of his or her professionalism in action.

Recipients will be honored at the Professionalism Luncheon on Thursday, September 24 (online registration coming soon).

Past award recipients include: Justice Brent Dickson Indiana Supreme Court; Hon. Anthony Metz, U.S. Bankruptcy Court; Sally Zweig, Katz & Korin; Hon. Sarah Evans Barker, US District Court, Southern Division; Marty Hollingsworth, Bingham McHale LLP; Douglas J. Hill, Hill Fulwider McDowell Funk & Matthews; Hon. John D. Tinder, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh District; Karl L. Mulvaney, Bingham McHale LLP; Hon. Charles J. Deiter, Marion Superior Court, Probate Division; Hon. Patricia J. Gifford, Marion Superior Court, Criminal Division; Phillip "Skip" Kappes, Lewis & Kappes; and John R. Maley, Barnes & Thornburg LLP.


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)