About IndyBar

Nominations Now Accepted for Antoinette Dakin Leach Award - IndyBar News

IndyBar News

Posted on: Jun 13, 2014

To recognize the accomplishments of female attorneys in central Indiana, the IndyBar’s Women & the Law Division presents the Antoinette Dakin Leach Award, an honor named for the first woman who gained admittance to the Indiana Bar.

Antoinette Dakin Leach (1859-1922) gained admittance to the Indiana Bar only after the Indiana Supreme Court overruled a lower court ruling which stated that a woman was “not a citizen in the sense that she could hold office and practice law.” Ms. Leach went on to a successful career as an attorney and was a state and national leader in the suffragist movement.

Please take a moment to nominate a female attorney who has demonstrated some of the attributes of Antoinette Dakin Leach by encouraging other women in the pursuit of this honorable profession or blazing a path not taken by others. Click here for the nomination form. The deadline for nominations is July 25, 2014. The recipient of the award will be honored at an event this fall.

Past Recipients
1990 – Hon. V. Sue Shields
1992 – Virginia Dill McCarty
1993 – Hon. Sarah Evans Barker
1995 – Shirley A. Shideler
1996 – Hon. Pamela Carter
1997 – Hon. Myra C. Selby
1998 – Francina A. Dlouhy
1999 – Mary Y. Marsh
2000 – Kristin G. Fruehwald
2001 – Ann DeLaney
2002 – Hon. Jane Magnus-Stinson
2003 – Joan Fullam Irick
2004 – Hon. Betty Barteau
2005 – Deborah J. Daniels
2006 – Hon. Patricia Gifford
2007 – Denise Larue
2008 – Abby Kuzma
2009 – Monica Foster
2010 - Deborah Hepler and Julia Blackwell Gelinas
2011 – Hon. Margret Robb
2012 – Kathleen Lucas
2013 – Hon. Tanya Walton Pratt


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)