Nominations Now Accepted for 2017 IndyBar Board of Directors - IndyBar Blog

IndyBar Blog

Posted on: May 23, 2016

The nomination period has begun for the 2017 Board of Directors of the Indianapolis Bar Association, and Jeff Abrams of Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff LLP  has been appointed to chair the effort. Abrams, who is a past president of both the association and the Indianapolis Bar Foundation, will lead a committee of members in selecting a slate of officers for the coming year.

Letters of interest or the nomination form should be forwarded to the IndyBar office by July 15, 2016. Self nominations are encouraged, as well as nominations of colleagues. Forms and letters can be emailed to, faxed to 317-269-1915, or mailed to 135 N. Pennsylvania St., Suite 1500, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204.

The following vacancies exist for the coming year and must be filled by an attorney member:

  • 1st Vice President (serves one-year term and will automatically assume the office of President-elect in 2018)
  • Secretary (two-year term, 2017 and 2018)
  • At-Large Member of Board of Managers (five positions, each two-year terms, 2017 and 2018)
  • American Bar Association Delegate (two year term, 2017 and 2018)


The IndyBar's Nominating Committee will select a slate of nominees, which reflects our geographic, ethnic, minority, gender and practice area diversity. Previous leadership experience with the Indianapolis Bar Association and/or the Indianapolis Bar Foundation is preferred.

IndyBar members wishing to seek election outside the nominating process may file a petition ballot which is now available at the bar office. To be valid, the petition must be filed by July 15, 2016 and must contain the signatures of at least 50 attorney members of the Indianapolis Bar Association.


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)