ATTENTION: Effective Jan.1, 2015, NEW $50.00 Rule Regarding Submission of CLE Credits!By Robin L. Kelly, Mitchell Law Group
Please be advised that there is a new rule in place regarding the submission of CLE credits to the Indiana Commission for Continuing Education. The Commission will be charging a $50.00 late fee when course attendance is not submitted within 30 days of course completion. This means that the IndyBar will be submitting IndyBar members' CLE credits on the 28th day of the month after the class occurs, or the Friday before, whichever is later.
If you have not gotten your affidavit to the IndyBar by that 28th day, you will then have to self-report those credit hours to the Indiana Commission for Continuing Education. At that point, you will have only two calendar days (NOT business days) to effectuate that self-reporting or you will be charged a $50.00 fee by the Commission.
Please note: As a courtesy, the IndyBar will be emailing a notice within two business days of the CLE presentation to anyone that attended and didn’t leave an affidavit with them at the end of the program. (Here is where the Family Law Executive Committee would like to offer some Captain Obvious advice: “Turn in your CLE affidavit at the end of the CLE presentation, on your way out.”) A link to the Order can be found here
.This post was written by Robin L. Kelly of Mitchell Law Group. If you would like to submit content or write an article for the Family Law Section page, please email Mary Kay Price at email@example.com. To subscribe to more Family Law Section news like the article above, click here to update your news subscriptions. Your news subscriptions appear in your bi-weekly E-Bulletin and on your personalized IndyBar homepage.Keep an eye out for our newest e-newsletter for members, Bar Talk, featuring the top IndyBar posts each month!