Interest Groups

Government Practice Section: Chair Message - Government Practice News

Get the news you want the way you want it: click the RSS button in the right corner to add this feed to your RSS reader, or click here to subscribe to this content. By subscribing, you’ll find this news on your Member Account page, and the latest articles will be emailed to you in your customized IndyBar E-Bulletin e-newsletter.

Government Practice News

Posted on: Nov 21, 2016

Dear IndyBar Government Practice Section members,

Another year of learning, networking, and fellowship has quickly passed by. Justin Swanson will soon be taking over as section chair, and I look forward to continuing to work with him and the other dedicated members on the Executive Committee as we bring CLEs, social events, and other programming to our members. I have valued the opportunity to serve as the section chair and enjoyed meeting so many of our members. 

A major highlight of our fall programming was the 4th annual debate on September 27th. Attendees were treated to a civil and informative discussion of gun regulation from participants Paul Helmke and Guy Relford. The debate was live-streamed on Indybar’s Facebook page and is still available on the IndyBar Facebook page.

We also hosted well-received CLEs in October and November regarding drone laws and ethics of social media. The board thanks all the presenters from those events which also included Judge David Certo,  Judge Tim Baker, Magistrate Jason Reyome, Charnette Garner and Patrick Thornberry. We are presently planning next year’s CLEs. Let us know if you have ideas for new topics or are interested in being a presenter.

At the beginning of November, the section awarded its annual law student scholarship to Ashley Kincaid Eve of the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law. The board members participating in the selection process were happy to see applications from so many bright, forward-thinking candidates about to enter the legal profession, and government practice in particular.

Thank you for your continued involvement in our Section and the IndyBar.  See you at the next event!

Justin Roebel
Office of the Indiana Attorney General
2016 Government Practice Section Chair


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)