Interest Groups

Supreme Court Interviews Held to Fill Justice Rucker's Seat - Environmental Law News

Get the news you want the way you want it: click the RSS button in the right corner to add this feed to your RSS reader, or click here to subscribe to this content. By subscribing, you’ll find this news on your Member Account page, and the latest articles will be emailed to you in your customized IndyBar E-Bulletin e-newsletter.

Environmental Law News

Posted on: Mar 22, 2017

By Colin Connor, Plews Shadley Racher & Braun LLP

With Justice Rucker’s upcoming retirement, public interviews for his replacement on the Indiana Supreme Court took place on March 21 and 22. These interviews will be followed by second interviews with a select number of candidates. After the second round of interviews, the Nominating Commission will nominate three candidates for the Governor to choose from. A list of the 20 candidates granted interviews during the first round is below:

  1. Dale W. Arnett, solo practitioner, Winchester
  2. Clark Circuit 4 Judge Vicki L. Carmichael, Jeffersonville
  3. Deputy attorney general Stephen R. Creason, Indianapolis
  4. Ralph E. Dowling, solo practitioner, Muncie
  5. Morgan Superior 1 Judge Peter R. Foley, Martinsville
  6. Wabash Superior Judge Christopher M. Goff, Wabash
  7. Marion Superior Criminal Division 7 Judge Clayton A. Graham
  8. Floyd Superior Judge Maria D. Granger, New Albany
  9. Elizabeth C. Green, partner, Riley Bennett Egloff, Indianapolis
  10. Lyle R. Hardman, partner, Hunt Suedhoff Kalamaros LLP, South Bend
  11. Leslie C. Henderzahs, partner, Church Church Hittle & Antrim, Fishers
  12. St. Joseph Superior Judge Steven L. Hostetler, South Bend
  13. Boone Superior 1 Judge Matthew C. Kincaid, Lebanon
  14. Washington Circuit Judge Larry W. Medlock, Salem
  15. Jaime M. Oss, partner, Huelat Mack & Kreppein PC, LaPorte
  16. Bryce D. Owens, solo practitioner, Pendleton
  17. William N. Riley, partner, Riley Williams & Piatt, LLC, Indianapolis
  18. Peter J. Rusthoven, partner, Barnes & Thornburg LLP, Indianapolis
  19. Rep. Thomas M. Washburne, general counsel, Old National Bankcorp., Evansville
  20. Leanna K. Weissmann, solo practitioner, Lawrenceburg

If you would like to submit content or write an article for the Environmental Law Section page, please email Kara Sikorski at


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)