Interest Groups

Twelve Apply for Indiana Court of Appeals Vacancy - Appellate Practice News

Get the news you want the way you want it: click the RSS button in the right corner to add this feed to your RSS reader, or click here to subscribe to this content. By subscribing, you’ll find this news on your Member Account page, and the latest articles will be emailed to you in your customized IndyBar E-Bulletin e-newsletter.

Appellate Practice News

Posted on: Apr 3, 2018

The Judicial Nominating Commission received twelve applications for the upcoming Court of Appeals of Indiana vacancy. The following attorneys and judges have applied for the seat which will be available when Judge Michael Barnes retires this summer.

  • Hon. Jeanene Calabrese, Starke Circuit Court
  • Hon. Randy Coffey, Steuben Circuit & Superior Courts
  • Hon. Deborah Domine, Elkhart Circuit Court
  • Lyle Hardman, South Bend, Indiana
  • Hon. Steven Hostetler, St. Joseph Superior Court
  • Brian Hurley, Valparaiso, Indiana
  • Jamie Oss, La Porte, Indiana
  • Hon. Graham Polando, St. Joseph Probate Court
  • Hon. Elizabeth Tavitas, Lake Superior Court
  • Andrew Teel, Fort Wayne, Indiana
  • John Tuskey, Mishawaka, Indiana
  • David Van Gilder, Fort Wayne, Indiana

The applicant names are public record. The actual applications are public record if the candidate is interviewed (see IC 33-27-3-2(d)(1)). The interview schedule and details on how applications can be reviewed will be announced soon. The Judicial Nominating Commission will meet in an Executive Session on April 11 to discuss the applications.

According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute, the seven-member Judicial Nominating Commission must recruit and select candidates to fill the upcoming vacancy on the Court of Appeals. The commission is chaired by Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush and includes three attorneys elected by attorneys and three citizens appointed by the Governor.

The commission will consider the applicants’ legal education, legal writings, reputation in the practice of law, physical condition, financial interests, activities in public service and any other pertinent information. After interviews, the commission will send three candidates to Governor Eric Holcomb. The Governor will select Indiana's next Court of Appeals judge within 60 days of receiving the list. 


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)