Interest Groups

Marion County Judicial Selection Committee to Meet - Appellate Practice News

Get the news you want the way you want it: click the RSS button in the right corner to add this feed to your RSS reader, or click here to subscribe to this content. By subscribing, you’ll find this news on your Member Account page, and the latest articles will be emailed to you in your customized IndyBar E-Bulletin e-newsletter.

Appellate Practice News

Posted on: Nov 21, 2017

The 14-member Marion County Judicial Selection Committee is holding an organizational meeting to lay the groundwork for selecting nominees for and making recommendations concerning the retention of judges in Marion County trial courts for the 2018 election cycle.

Committee Chairperson and Indiana Supreme Court Justice Mark Massa announced the committee will meet on November 28, 2017 at 10 a.m. in Room 319 of the Indiana State House. The meeting is open to the public.

The committee was established by the Indiana General Assembly in 2017. Indiana law IC 33-33-49-13.1 to 33-33-49-13.7 provides the framework for the duties and membership of the Committee. Appointees are Democrats and Republicans as well as Marion County legal and bar association members, including:

  • Justice Mark S. Massa (Chairman)
  • Judge Cale J. Bradford (Vice Chairman)
  • Billie Breaux
  • Cordelia Lewis Burks
  • Bryce A. Carpenter
  • Lee C. Christie
  • Susan E. Cline
  • K. Michael Gaerte (Indianapolis Bar Association Representative)
  • Rick Hurst
  • Katherine (Katie) F. Jackson-Lindsay
  • Lacy M. Johnson
  • Andrew J. Mallon
  • Adrianne L. Slash
  • Jennifer Thuma

Information about judicial vacancies can be found on the Supreme Court’s website.

If you would like to submit content or write an article for the Appellate Practice Section, please email Kara Sikorski at


Indianapolis Bar Association (IndyBar) est. 1878 | 4,536 Members (as of 2.11.21)