IndyBar Professionalism Efforts

The Indianapolis Bar Association is committed to reducing image related barriers that may keep some from obtaining legal advice and that may create distance in some attorney-client relationships. Through the IndyBar's Standing Committee on Professionalism, our members are working to improve public confidence and trust in lawyers through activities that (a) promote positive lawyer images in the Indianapolis community and (b) educate members and the public on how to avoid those circumstances that can lead to client distrust and dissatisfaction.

Efforts to Maintain Professionalism:

Efforts to Maintain Public Confidence:

Recognizing Professionalism

The Professionalism Committee recognizes professionalism through two awards: The Silver Gavel award for judges and the Professionalism Award for attorneys. These awards are given annually only when a qualified candidate exists.

Past Award Recipients:

2005: Douglas J. Hill, Hill Fulwider McDowell Funk & Matthews
2006: not awarded
2007: Silver Gavel: Hon. John D. Tinder, then of the U.S. District Court, Southern District of Indiana; Professionalism: Karl L. Mulvaney, Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
2008: Silver Gavel: Hon. Charles J. Deiter, Marion Superior Court,
Probate Division, and Hon. Patricia J. Gifford,
Marion Superior Court, Criminal Division; Professionalism: John R. Maley, Barnes & Thornburg LLP
2009: Silver Gavel: Hon. Theodore Boehm, Indiana Supreme Court; Professionalism: Kristin Fruehwald, Barnes &
Thornburg LLP
2010: Silver Gavel:  Hon. Sarah Evans Barker, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Indiana; Professionalism: Marty Hollingsworth, Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
2011: Silver Gavel: Hon. Kennard Foster, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Indiana; Professionalism: Raymond Good
2012: Silver Gavel: Hon. Anthony Metz, U.S. Bankruptcy Court; Professionalism: Sally Zweig, Katz & Korin PC
2013: Silver Gavel: Hon. Gerald Zore, Marion Superior Court; Professionalism: C. Joseph Russell (posthumous)
2014: Silver Gavel: Hon. Brent Dickson, Indiana Supreme Court; Philip "Skip" Kappes, Lewis & Kappes