Committees & Task Forces

IndyBar Committees & Task Forces

IndyBar Committees & Task Forces take on important business and initiatives on behalf of the association. Committee and task force sizes vary in size of members, length of volunteer commitment and nature of work, but all offer volunteers a meaningful way to contribute their efforts for the betterment of the bar and the Indy legal community.

Committee & Task Force Appointments

Appointments to committees and task forces are taking place now! To express your interest in serving on a committee or task force, contact the IndyBar at

Current Committees & Task Forces

Audit and Investments Committee

The Audit and Investments Committee oversees the performance of the annual audit, monitors the performance of the investment managers, and receives reports for recommendation to the Board of Directors.  2014 Committee Chair: Jimmie McMillian, Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Bar Review Committee

The Bar Review Committee is responsible for the oversight of IndyBar Review, the official bar review course of the Indianapolis Bar Association. 2014 Committee Chair: Christine Hickey, Rubin & Levin PC

Bench Bar Conference Committee

The Bench Bar Conference Committee is responsible for the planning and execution of the IndyBar's annual Bench Bar Conference. 2014 Committee Chair: The Hon. Steven David, Indiana Supreme Court

Budget Committee

The Budget Committee oversees the creation of the operating budget and monitors performance against budget throughout the year. 2014 Committee Chair: Jimmie McMillian, Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Diversity Job Fair Committee

The Diversity Job Fair Committee is tasked with the planning and execution of the annual Diversity Job Fair. 2014 Committee Chair: Sara Blevins, Lewis & Kappes

Grievance Committee

The Grievance Committee, comprised of about 60 local practicing attorneys and separated into four different panels, investigates complaints filed to the Disciplinary Commission. 2013 Committee Chair: Kent Newton, Newton Becker Bouwkamp Pendoski PC

Helping Enrich Attorneys' Lives (HEAL)

HEAL reaches out to members of the Indy legal community who are experiencing personal crises like health issues. Volunteers communicate with the member to determine how the bar could help and ultimately organize assistance. 2014 Committee Chair: Aubrey Noltemeyer, Kightlinger & Gray

Legal Services Task Force

The Legal Services Task Force oversees the operation of the IndyBar's Lawyer Referral Service and Indy Lawyer Finder. 2014 Committee Chair: Brad Keffer, Keffer Barnhart LLP

Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee monitors legislation on behalf of the association, alerting members to items of interest and coordinating the IndyBar's response to potential legislation. 2013 Committee Chair: Mindy A. Westrick, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee is responsible for the IndyBar's membership outreach efforts, including both recruitment of new members and retention of current members. 2014 Committee Chair: TBA

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is tasked with soliciting and reviewing nominations and presenting a slate of nominees for the following positions on the Indianapolis Bar Association Board of Directors: First Vice President, Treasurer and five At-Large Board Member positions. 2014 Committee Chair: Christine Hickey, Rubin & Levin PC

Professionalism Committee

The IndyBar's Standing Committee on Professionalism is tasked with working to improve public confidence and trust in lawyers through activities that (a) promote positive lawyer images in the Indianapolis community and (b) educate members and the public on how to avoid those circumstances that can lead to client distrust and dissatisfaction. 2014 Committee Chair: Patricia McMath, Marion County Public Defender Agency

Pro Bono Committee

The Pro Bono Committee monitors, operates and evaluates the IndyBar's pro bono initiative and identifies future opportunities for pro bono service and involvement. 2014 Committee Chair: The Hon. Mark D. Stoner, Marion Superior Court

Publications Committee

The group evaluates and assesses existing IndyBar publications and is responsible for the development of new publications. 2014 Committee Chair: TBA

Public Outreach Committee

The Public Outreach Committee is responsible for creating and/or organizing the association's public outreach activities unrelated to pro bono service, which includes programs or services such as educational videos, publications and programs for children. 2014 Committee Chair: Patricia L. Marshall, U.S. Bankruptcy Court